Rich Willey’s Boptism Funk Band — Conspiracy CD


Rich gets back to the original essence of jazz: dance music, fun and enjoyable to listen to, accessible to pretty much everybody. Tireless composer that he is, Rich has been busy cooking up these memorable and singable funk melodies to delight and amuse, not to confound and confuse. 😉

The actual CD is available here but also through:
CD Baby (the actual CD or individual mp3 tracks)
hearnow (several different formats available)

SKU: WCR03282019 Categories: , ,


Composer Rich Willey, in an effort to get some of his tunes recorded as well as possible, assembled this amazing group of musicians at Manifold Recording Studio in Pittsboro, NC, from April 6–8 of 2019. With the remarkable arranging and producing talents of The Amazing Wally Minko and the astute guidance and keen ears of executive producer Dan Fornero, the results are simply outstanding.

Rich Willey’s not-so-secret Conspiracy is to get back to the original essence of jazz. Jazz began as dance music, fun and enjoyable to listen to and accessible to pretty much everybody. Rich thinks there are plenty of people who will embrace the infectious rhythms, the strong melodies, the consonant harmonies and the light-heartedness of his Boptism Funk Band. It’s such a diabolical Conspiracy that there are also many levels of musical satisfaction in this music: for the dancer, for the die-hard jazz listener, and even for those who think they don’t like jazz!

Dan Fornero, Trumpet & Flugelhorn
John Swana, Valve Trombone & EVI
Tom Evans, Tenor Sax, Alto Sax, Clarinet, Flute, Baritone Sax
David Mann, Tenor Sax & Soprano Sax
Rich Willey, Bass Trumpet & Trumpet
Dave Stryker, Guitar
Wally Minko, Fender Rhodes and Synthesizer
Bobby Floyd, Hammond B3 Organ & Piano
Mike Boone, 5-String Electric Bass
Byron “Wookie” Landham, Drums

1. Mister Magoo — 4:32
2. Goofin’ Off — 7:19
3. Clip Clop Mogul — 7:17
4. Blessed Are The Hip — 7:05
5. Adrenaline Rush — 5:30
6. Brother Kenya’s Paradigm — 5:31
7. Secret Things — 7:32
8. Conspiracy — 4:25
9. Nude Eel — 8:12
10. Eenie Meanie Beanie Weeny — 6:38
11. Blues For Bobby — 5:11

This recording was produced and directed by The Amazing Wally Minko
Executive Producer: Dan Fornero
All selections written by Rich Willey, Ⓒ & Ⓟ Boptism Music Company 2019, BMI
All arrangements by The Amazing Wally Minko
Jason Richmond engineered the recording and mixing sessions
Recorded April 6–8, 2019 at Manifold Recording, Pittsboro, NC, assisted by Ian Schreier
Mastering by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood, CA
Spencer Guerra is the Pro Tools Wizard!
Cover Photograph by Jason Richmond
CD cover and DigiPak design by Vadim Reko (Shulyak Vadym Aleksandrovich)

Review by Rick Simerly, Trombonist, Elizabethton TN
“I’m still listening to “Conspiracy” and enjoying every second!  The tunes are great, the group is tight, the solos are fantastic and the recording quality/mix is outstanding!  It is hard to compare this to “Down and Dirty” because that recording is so incredible, but “Conspiracy” just might be my favorite. Thanks so much for giving me promotional copies of both and congratulations on two perfect projects!”

Additional information

Weight 15 oz
Dimensions 8 × 6 × .25 in